Tuesday, 3 December 2013


Cuxhaven is a German city situated on the shore of the North Sea at the mouth of the Elbe River. The "Alte Liebe" Lighthouse, also called Hamburger Lighthouse, was built in Cuxhaven by the Hanseatic City of Hamburg and first lit on November 15, 1805 (53 ° 52 '22 " N , 8 ° 42 '34 " E). The 23 m (75 ft.) round red brick tower has four floors and a 104 steps staircase leads to the lantern room with its green copper-plated dome.
 The Latin inscription above the tower’s entrance says:  “Nautis signum / sibi monumentum erexit / respublica hamburgensis / Ao MDCCCIII” (A sign to the seafarers this monument was erected by the state of Hamburg in the year 1803).
After only a short time in service (eleven months), the lighthouse was extinguished because of the continental naval blockade decreed by Napoleon against British trade (Napoleonic Wars). The lighthouse returned in operation in 1814 and after almost two centuries of operation the lighthouse (Germany's oldest in service) was deactivated on May 7, 2001 and sold into private ownership. In 2005 the owner, Klaus-Otto Lammert, restored the interior and exterior of the tower. 
Australia and Germany released a joint stamp issue celebrating the 200th birth anniversary of German explorer and naturalist Ludwig Leichhardt (1813-1848). Leichhardt arrived in Sydney in February 1842 with the intention of exploring the inland of Australia. Leichhardt explored parts of Queensland and Northern Territory and attempted unsuccessfully to cross Australia from east to west.
The expedition, which set out in March 1848, resulted in the disappearance of Leichhardt and his entire party. Many search parties went out to try and find traces of the party, but no remains have ever been found.
The German stamp issued on October 10, 2013 features a portrait of Ludwig Leichhardt from around 1846, which is held by the National Library of Australia.

No comments: