Tuesday, 25 December 2012


The Matsu archipelago contains 19 islands located in the Taiwan Strait, far closer to China's southern coast than to Taiwan. Still, they are part of Taiwan politically. Matsu's geographical placement has necessarily made it a place first and foremost dedicated to military affairs, specifically defense of Taiwan from the People's Republic of China. Outside the military bases, Matsu is open to tourism.
Dongju (Dongjyu) Islet is 2.63 square kilometers and is at the southernmost end of the Matsu archipelago. Here it is the Dongjyu Lighthouse:  the 19.5 m (64 ft) round cylindrical granite tower constructed during the Ching Dinasty by English engineers. The lighthouse was first lit on August 8, 1872 and is located atop a hill on the northeastern point of the island.
Taiwan Postal Administration first issued a set of definitive lighthouse stamps in 1989, and released the second series in 1991. On July 28, 2010 four light stamps were issued and the postcard shows two of them: the NT$5 Wenkan Tui Lighthouse and the NT$10 Paisha Chia Lighthouse.

No comments: