Saturday, 12 November 2011


 Remmarholmen Lighthouse is located on Reimarisaari, a small island off the southwestern tip of the larger island of Vallisaari, about 3.5 km (2 mi) southeast of Helsinki (60° 7'52" N  24°59'38" E). The 5 m (17 ft) round concrete tower lies beside the main ship route into the harbor of the Finnish capital.
Finland issued on March 2, 2005 two sets of coil stamps on Hvitträsk, a group of buildings in the National Romantic style located at Kirkkonummi, 30 kilometers (19 mi) west of Helsinki. The architectural masterpiece, designed by famous architects Herman Gesellius, Eliel Saarinen and Armas Lindgren as studio facilities and dwellings for their own use, is featured on six stamps.
Hvitträsk is a unique piece of National Romantic (Nordic Art nouveau) architecture, a true must-see with beautiful gardens and a lake. The house was named after Lake Vitträsk, on which it was built between 1901–1903. Hvitträsk literally means White Lake.

No comments: