Sunday, 6 February 2011


Because Namibia has one of the world’s most barren and inhospitable coastlines, it was largely ignored by the European nations until relatively recently.Its colonial history began in 1878, when Britain took control of the port of Walvis Bay. The rest of South West Africa became a German colony in 1884. South African troops occupied the German colony in 1915, early in World War I, and South Africa remained in control of the territory for the next 75 years. After a lengthy struggle, Namibia became independent in 1990.
Namibia Post issued on June 18th, 2010 a beautiful set named “Lighthouses of Namibia” presenting the three active traditional lighthouses in the country. Swakopmund Light built in 1903: the 28 m (92 ft) round tower with a double gallery, painted with red and white horizontal bands.  Pelican Point Light built in 1932: the 34 m (112 ft) round cast iron tower painted with black and white horizontal bands. Diaz Point Light built in 1915: the 28 m (92 ft) tower painted with red and white horizontal bands, mounted on a 1-story hexagonal stone base. Thank you, Bruce for the stamps and the FDC. Fantastic!

No comments: