Saturday, 27 November 2010


 The Biarritz Lighthouse is nonetheless one of the most remarkable of French coastline. It is one of the lighthouses designed by Augustin Fresnel himself: the construction of the tower began in 1830 and not completed until 1834. The 47 m (154 ft) masonry tower rises from the center of a 2-story octagonal keeper's house. It is located at the end of the Avenue de l'Impératrice, on the promontory of Cap Hainsart, on the north side of the resort city of Biarritz,  in south-western France. After climbing a spiral staircase of 248 steps you reach the upper deck and have a breathtaking view of the Atlantic on one side and the Pyrénées mountains on the other.
The year 1960 saw independence sweep across much of Africa. Fourteen countries ceased to be French colonies: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Gabon, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, Chad and Togo. French Post marks the fiftieth anniversary of the independence issuing a stamp on July 15, 2010. The 0, 87 € stamp highlights the Franco-African relations (diplomatic, military, economic and cultural) and enhance the role and place of Africans in France. Thank you, Brigitte.

No comments: