Friday, 2 July 2010


Aruba is an island located in the southern Caribbean Sea only 27 km (17 mi) from the coast of Venezuela. The island is 32 km (20 mi) long and has a population of about 110,000. Aruba has been a Dutch colony since 1636. In 1845 it was joined with the other Dutch islands of the West Indies to form the Netherlands Antilles. It left that federation in 1986 and has been a separate Dutch territory since then.

Aruba Post issued on January 4th, 2009 two stamps, celebrating the bicentenary of Louis Braille, the French who invented the Braille system, a method that is widely used by blind people to read and write. The 200c stamp shows Louis Braille and the 215c stamp a hand holding a mobility cane.
The California Lighthouse is located on the northwest tip of Aruba, perched on a high seaside elevation with a perfect view of the island's western coastline. Built in 1916 by a French architect, the 30 m (98 ft) unpainted stone tower was named for the British steamship California, which wrecked nearby on Sept 23, 1891. The 1-story keeper's house has been greatly expanded into a popular Italian restaurant named La Trattoria el Faro Blanco.

No comments: