Monday, 15 December 2008


Eric Contesse, stamp partner from Lyon sent me this cover with a stamp celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Fifth Republic (issued in October 2008) and stamps of the lighthouse block issued in November 2007.
The Fifth Republic is the fifth and current republican constitution of France, which was introduced on October 5, 1958. The Fifth Republic emerged from the collapse of the French Fourth Republic, replacing a parliamentary government with a semi-presidential system. Charles de Gaulle and his supporters proposed a system of strong executive presidents elected for seven-year terms. The President under the proposed constitution would have executive powers to run the country in consultation with a prime minister whom he would appoint from each elected parliament.
The Place Bellecour is a large plaza in Lyon. Formerly known as the Royal Square, the Place Bellecour is located between the Rhone and the Saone rivers in the Presqu'ile district. In the center of this square (one of the largest in all Europe) is the famous statue of Louis XIV on horseback, made in 1825. In the background, atop the Fourvière hill, the Basilica Notre-Dame de Fourvière looms impressively over the city of Lyon. It was built between 1872 and 1896 and was included when the whole historic center of Lyon was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1998.

No comments: